Fan Outrage Impels Company CEO to Fire Dev Over “Hateful” Twitter Posts

https://kotaku.com/subnautica-dev-fired-over-hateful-statements-1822746373

Why it’s Not Surprising That the Subnautica Developer Was Fired

Oh, wait. Did you think I was talking about ArenaNet?

That’s old news.

So I brought up even older news to make a point.

Please remember to remain consistent with your stances.

Personally, my stance is: if you make the company look bad by being stupid on social media AND are personally identifiable to boot, don’t be surprised if the consequences come back to bite you in the ass and if the company no longer wants to be associated with you.

Oh, and don’t identify as an apache attack helicopter.

I recommend wolves of no specified gender.

All of geekdom will be so distracted teasing you as a furry that they will forget any more politically charged issues and unite under one meme banner.

2 thoughts on “Fan Outrage Impels Company CEO to Fire Dev Over “Hateful” Twitter Posts

  1. I’ve mentioned it in the past, just because your bio states opinions expressed here are my own and do not reflect my employer mean absolutely nothing. Making a declaration like that does not offer any protection to your job.

    My niece will be graduating the end of this year with a degree to get a job in Human Resources. I am going to be very curious how her job evolves over the next few years with the conflict of employers, social media, and first amendment rights.

    Like

  2. I’ve mentioned it before, but the Price incident feels like it turned everything upside down for a lot of people.

    The interesting side note that has sprung up though, is how everyone is suddenly interested in corporations’ ability to basically police their social media. Haven’t we all be scrubbing our Facebook accounts for like 10+ years? “Don’t tag me in that beer pong picture, I’m trying to apply for jobs!” That ship has long sailed, my friends, about the same time unions were gutted.

    Like

Leave a comment