Path Of…

Well, now.

The plan for this blog post title was to suggest that I was going to talk about GW2: Path of Fire, and then carefully skirt around actually NOT mentioning GW2 at all, beyond a wait-and-see regarding the preview weekend and some internal brooding over whether I should allow myself to buy the expansion – aka spend money on supporting GW2/Anet – while the stupid raid-exclusive legendary armor saga continued.

Instead, I was going to wax rhapsodic about Path of Exile, whose free 3.0 Fall of Oriath expansion is due to launch in less than 24 hours and how excited I am to play through ten full chapters with no repetition needed for increasingly higher Cruel and Merciless difficulties.

Then I idly checked the Guild Wars 2 reddit and saw an announcement that totally made my day…week, month, year. Whatever.

https://forum-en.guildwars2.com/forum/game/wuv/WvW-and-PvP-Ascended-Armor-Upgrades/first#post6670394

When the August 8th update is released, WvW and PvP players who own Heart of Thorns will be able to upgrade their WvW and PvP ascended armor to have legendary attributes! This new type of armor will not have a unique skin, such as the one that is part of the raids legendary armor, but instead will consist of an upgrade to WvW and PvP ascended armor that gives those armor pieces legendary stat-swapping capabilities without changing the skin.
The following PvP and WvW ascended armor can be upgraded to allow stat swapping:
• Triumphant Hero’s Ascended Armor
• Mistforged Triumphant Hero’s Ascended Armor
• Ardent Glorious Ascended Armor
• Glorious Hero Ascended Armor

Yo. That’s all I’ve been asking for and needed for philosophical parity. An alternate pathway(s) to legendary armor functionality. Since 20-fucking-15.

I’ve been holding back on spending a cent on Anet since raids were introduced, because of that.

Well, now I can buy the $80 version of the expansion guilt free.

And I can go be a PvE hero now and raid with much less unhappiness.