CoH: Screenshot Nostalgia Trip #2

If you take enough screenshots, some of them become happy accidents...

In retrospect, it amuses me that I have so many screenshots of herding in City of Heroes.

I suspect the whole concept was fairly amazing to a ex-MUD player who was used to running (or “raiding” in today’s MMO parlance) a single big, bad and powerful mob with a group of 5-8 players.

In City of Heroes, the whole thing was inverted.

coh_herd1

There were a LOT more enemies, but they were mostly minions, mooks of very little consequence attempting to swarm an impervious superhero.

Herding was a heady and powerful drug for a tank (if deadly boring to everyone else waiting for the one player to do their thing.)

Since I tended to fall on the exceedingly bored and frustrated side of the spectrum every time I played a non-tank in a group, I usually adopted the “run from spawn to spawn” routine in my groups and saved my power-tripping for solo expeditions.

coh_herd3

Solo herding was also a good way for me to practice the then new-to-me concepts of using line of sight, corner-pulling, and experimenting with whatever scenery caught my eye to see if clever usage thereof would fool mob AI into doing what I wanted them to do.

To this day, I still greatly enjoy the control aspects of a tank, much more so than the typical I-need-to-trust-a-healer-to-keep-me-upright sort of tanking in more standard MMOs.

coh_herd2

Yep, I even did it outdoors.

coh_herd4

The blindly running swarm in a line is somehow so satisfying.

I did that, it declares to the world. These mobs are in my power.

coh_herd5

Of course, it helped that City of Heroes made some characters so overpowered that they could get swung at by 15 mobs and not see a dent in their health bar.

As long as you did -some- damage then, the outcome was a forgone conclusion.

NBI Writing Prompt: Are there any unexpected combat tactics that evolved in your MMO?

Leave a comment