GW2: The City in the Sea – Verse 1

Lo! Death has reared himself a throne

001 - Lo Death
In a strange city lying alone

002 - In a Strange
Far down within the dim West,

003 - Far Down Dim West
Where the good and the bad and the worst and the best

004 - Good Bad Worst Best
Have gone to their eternal rest.

005 - Eternal Rest
There shrines and palaces and towers

006 - Shrines Palace Towers
(Time-eaten towers that tremble not!)

007 - Time Eaten Towers
Resemble nothing that is ours.

008 - Resemble Nothing
Around, by lifting winds forgot,

009 - Around  By Lifting Wings
Resignedly beneath the sky

010 - Resignedly Neath The Sky
The melancholy waters lie.

011 - Melancholy Waters

— The City in the Sea, First Stanza

Edgar Allan Poe

I am liking the laurels and the new varied dailies. It has given me a reason to log in every day, and also guilt-free logging off after an hour or two once the daily is done.

I am liking the Living Story (so far). It gives me a reason to go back to my race hometown to check in with the herald and makes things more immersive thereby. (I know Lion’s Arch has ’em too, but nah…) It moves at a less hectic pace than one day events, so I don’t feel like I’m going to miss anything if I forget to log in for a day or two.

I am liking the changes to Orr. The Risen look nicer now that they’re bigger. It’s way easier to take screenshots when you’re not fighting off a zombie every step or two.

I am liking the current server I hopped to (Tarnished Coast.) 75-80% of the names I see around me are lore-appropriate, which really makes things more immersive, though I haven’t tried RPing yet. (With the amount of screenshots I take, I can only be a narcoleptic Charr, collapsing in sleep every five seconds or so… so better I don’t RP just yet.)

I see a lot more people around, which suggests it’s both a crowded server and zone funneling is working (I’ve only been in Wayfarer Foothills, Diessa Plateau and Orr so far.) The Temples are uncontested most of the time, which means people are doing the events, and suggests the difficulty tweaks have worked.

All the above got me refreshed and I’ve spent the last couple days on a very casual an hour or two a day Grand Project to screenshot Orr like you’ve never seen it before.

I’m out to prove that Orr is NOT FUGLY. Not one bit.

I took 980 screenshots, out of which I whittled down to 231 nice contenders, then skimmed the cream of the crop to sorta kinda fit the poem. Very sorta kinda.

I have to say, I feel like I’ve barely covered Orr’s land area and still have SO MUCH good looking stuff. I can’t imagine how many screens I’d have if I went around more places. ArenaNet is crazy good at what they do.

Enjoy.

3 thoughts on “GW2: The City in the Sea – Verse 1

  1. Personally, I don’t enjoy Orr. My dislike has nothing to do with the visuals but the dull and overdone Risen. However, your tribute to it is quite stunning. Bravo!! I found your site via Kill Ten Rats.

    Like

  2. I recently colored a set of pages by Frank Frazetta that were coupled with Poe’s “The City In The Sea”. I love the poem, and the art was stunning. But did they go together? Hmm.

    I kept thinking, if only Frazetta– or someone of the caliber of Al Williamson, etc. had actually done illustrations specifically for the poem.

    So it was nice to run across your work here. NICE stuff!

    Like

Leave a comment