The SAD Project – Day 2 – Predator Pew Pew

predator1

You probably guessed this one was coming.

I set up a bunch of buy orders for Tier 6 materials and the remaining orrian truffles last night.

When I next logged back in, everything was ready for the grand assemblage. Aka, clicking and dragging lots of materials out of hoarded storage, visiting some NPCs to buy one item or another with one currency or another, mystic forging some things and crafting some others with the correct alt that had 500 leatherworking or 500 huntsman.

predator4

predator3

That’s one shiny item icon.

predator2

I took it out for a spin.

Immediately, I was like, “Why has this NEVER come to my attention before?” “Why hasn’t anyone blown whistles and banged drums and made a immense furor to this world about this sweet sweet gun?”

You know what’s most striking about it?

Its SOUND.

(Disclaimer: Not my video. Pretty much the only one on Youtube that lets the rifle speak for itself without loads of commentary. And it’s amazing how many are dated from 2013-2015, with very few Predator videos after.)

It has a reverberating laser pew pew sound that at first seems a bit at odds with the looks of the sniper rifle, but sounds immensely epic in scope and befitting that of an item with legendary status.

The second awesome thing is the fiery projectile that comes out of the rifle. Besides looking awesome, it also lights mobs you shoot on fire, and they die with the special flaming death animation that the fiery dragon sword skin also produces.

In a way, it’s good that I didn’t realize this until -after- I made the legendary.

Because I’m not sure I would have been able to wait as long as I did, and would have spent a lot more money/effort chasing it.

All’s well that ends well. Everything got prioritized nicely, I’m now the happy owner of Rodgort, Kraitkin, a set of legendary heavy armor, and the Predator, and I feel like the tension of the last year or so with immensely long term goals hanging over my head has wound its way to a close.

I feel like I can close the book at the end of this GW2 chapter, so to speak, and just dabble or putter around with much shorter term goals that were being put off (e.g. various Living Story chievos, try to get into fractals -again-) and/or wander off to other games.

Sometime in the future, I intend to idly creep my way towards stuff like Astralaria, Chuka and Champawat, a set of legendary light armor and so on, but that is a long way off, so no need for any concrete plans as yet.

Plans are for the end stages, to kickstart myself into actually doing things (like put W, X, Y  and Z into the mystic forge and click buttons, which I’d otherwise put off).

For now, I’m happy to have no more long term plans or ambitions.

2 thoughts on “The SAD Project – Day 2 – Predator Pew Pew

  1. Bhagpuss says:

    That’s a very annoying sound. Almost as annoying as the popgun noise the Wintersday toy gun makes. I’ll keep an ear out for it when I’m playing – I can’t say I’ve ever heard it in game, unlike the insanity-inducing whinny of the rainbow pony, which i seem to hear every frickin’ day of my life.

    I have that fiery dragon sword I think – if it’s the legacy one from GW1. Never actually used it so I haven’t seen the fire animation. Might have to try it out.

    • Jeromai says:

      Hah, you haven’t heard annoying until you hear Quip. Get a thief to spam that one for you until all their initiative is gone. RIP ears.

      Aye, it’s the legacy GW1 skin. Try it out. It’s one of the few skins that produces a noticeably different death animation on mobs.

Leave a Reply

