GW2: Recent PvP Resources

It seems like the updates to GW2 PvP to put in reward tracks and ranked/unranked matches has been overall quite healthy for the state of sPvP. Especially with the new dailies that tempt me to get a game in nearly every day, just playing on a super casual and carefree level.

I’m probably not the only one.

And with this influx of new blood, there seems to be a larger appreciative audience of people interested in learning more about GW2 PvP and how it all works, which encourages skilled players to share advice and teach others.

I haven’t watched all the videos yet on the QQmore.net website but they all look very helpful.

I was especially fond of the Mindset and Avoiding Frustration text guide because it touches on something I’m still trying to work out and get right, how to react better when one is frustrated.

I used to get frustrated very easily and become very avoidant of things that frustrate me as a result.

I’d have very high expectations (of myself or of the result that I desired) and when I didn’t get it, man, anger, frustration, bottled up tantrums, all the bad feelings I’d try not to spew out onto other people (cos I did that in my early years a couple of times and that’s not nice or mature to take it out on others), and hey, I didn’t want to be the sole target of those bad feelings either, so… easy solution: don’t do the things that cause the frustration, right?

Well… avoiding works if you don’t care enough about the activity or result either way to get worked up about it, which works for unimportant stuff but not for stuff you actually wanna do.

Turns out that reframing one’s perspective and looking for constructive solutions/goals and small improvements to cheer about can be another way to deal with frustration – that’s still a work in progress for me, but I seem to be getting better at it via the Marionette, Tequatl, Boss Blitz, Lion’s Arch sequence.

Dabbling around in sPvP has been another way for me to work on this. I generally care very little about sPvP, or my reputation, what other people think of me, or how I look or perform (self-image-wise), which makes it easier to distance myself from whether I win or lose a particular match.

All I really care about is whether I’m performing to the best of my ability on a particular chosen character, and if I can keep learning or improving and getting a smidgen better or more familiar or more comfortable with that class.

Which ironically does frustrate me from time to time when I’m not doing well, but the guide’s right, if something’s frustrating you, that’s probably because it’s a learning opportunity, because someone is playing much much better than you and can be learned from, if one can just take away one’s ego from the equation. (Frickin’ super-ping sword/dagger thieves that just zip around and pwn. *coughs*)

Another fun resource that I enjoyed watching was Phantaram teaching Sodapoppin GW2 sPvP:

I gather that these two are streamers of some importance or other. The S guy being some WoW hotshot and Phantaram being a really good GW2 sPvP tournament player of some kind, who also turns out to have the patience of a saint when coaching. Mad respect.

This is very much worth watching for anyone interested in GW2 PvP – it’s very introductory, goes through some of the most common builds of all the classes and what they’re liable to do, and really shows off to an inexperienced player the potential -depth- of GW2’s PvP – which at first feels like a whole bunch of explosive lights and colors and someone’s dead, wut, but that there’s really some sophisticated stuff going on under the hood to pull that kind of thing off.

Buttons to chain in sequence to set up some spike damage or a kill (often assisted with some crowd control) and how to counter or escape someone that’s setting up to do that to you, and so on.

How one class can counter another and vice versa, and more besides.

It’s very much a taster, but it’s a very tempting taste, and even I’m tempted to start watching more of Phantaram’s and other streamers’ videos now… except for the whole need-time-to-do-so thing. Gah.

3 thoughts on “GW2: Recent PvP Resources

  1. Coppertopper says:

    This post – so exemplifies what I loved and hated about gw2 sPvP – mainly my own attitude when I was getting dominated. I’m a gracious winner, but can be a terrible temper-tantrumy child-like loser, which I mostly contain but not often enough. I will definately check that info out on how to find positives in a losing situation. Also really happy to see sPvP is getting even more love. It’s a really fun game in itself and deserves whatever it takes to bring more players into that aspect of gw2. I’m going to log in for the first time in months when I get home to check it out again ::blows dust off engineer::

    • Jeromai says:

      If you’re a member of the “asura master race” club, I highly recommend PvPing on an asura to manage frustration. It’s very hard to take oneself too seriously when you can’t keep from grinning every time your character bounces around with ears perked up on screen.

      Bonus, you piss off people who hate gnomes and rats and other little things merely by existing, and can often successfully pull a flock of people off point in the attempt to chase you and hunt you down. (Distracted opponents = better chance of victory!)

  2. I’ve only been playing GW2 for a few weeks now, and this makes me want to try out sPvP! Probably not a great idea since I’m still learning a lot about swapping elements (on my elementalist, obviously), and skill combos in particular. Maybe I should try it out initially on necromancer first, because everyone says that’s so easy (then again, wanting to play something very well is never easy).

    That said, I’m now still enjoying the levelling up and exploring. I found the aggro management part of your Beginner’s Guide to be very helpful; that is something I’ve been wondering about. I’ll probably sneak around here for a while to read up on more. ^^

Leave a Reply

