Wildstar: Holy Hamster Wheel, Batman!

I lurk around in the Wildstar Reddit since it’s a hop and skip over from the GW2 one, mostly out of curiosity to see how their players are receiving the game.

Then I got sucked into a thread which asked if anyone was raiding yet, followed a link or two, and found the 12-Step Attunement Program to even qualify for Wildstar raids.

The infographic is certainly very pretty.

Can the enforced time-sucking design of subscription games be made any more obvious though?

It makes me chuckle.

10 thoughts on “Wildstar: Holy Hamster Wheel, Batman!

  1. […] I’d like to thank Jeromai for alerting me to Wildstar’s Twelve Step Program for raid access, which has done a lot to […]

  2. Wow… O_O
    That list is just silly. even the kids who think this is so cool and l33t are gonna hate it once they realize what that means for guild recruitment. doing a 100 jailbreaks in WoW was easy in comparison to this. competitive raid guilds are gonna claw each others eyes out over candidates,

    I give Carbine 6 months max until they lower the raiding requirements considerably. I like attunements but excluding a big part of any playerbase from even putting a foot into raids is just blah.

  3. […] seeing Carbine’s excessive 12-step attunement to 40man raid entry in Wildstar (thanks Jeromai!) which makes a 100 jailbreaks look decent, I am trying very hard to stay cool and understand what […]

  4. kiantremayne says:

    Congratulations Jeromai, I think you have officially started A Thing with that link. My response to it officially has 200% more comments than I usually get on a good day 😛 Seriously though – this seems to be the point where the New Shiny and (vanilla) WoW Nostalgia both collide with the ongoing hardcore/casual debate, resulting in a massive multi-car fender bender…

  5. […] Jeromai and Syl have been looking at the attunement for 20-man raids in WildStar, and they are at best bemused and at worst concerned about what it all means for the game. I admit, I don’t really understand the problem. I am not planning on raiding in WildStar, but I sure will do the attunement chain because it looks like fun! […]

  6. […] …here’s what might happen in a game which gives you plenty of choice, rather than forcing you and leading you by the nose down a 12-step program. […]

  7. […] with uncomprehending eyes while I bite down on the words ‘endless treadmill’ and ‘hamster wheel‘ and try to explain the difference between vertical and lateral progression options, and […]

  8. […] attunement. I put myself on the spot declaring the chain over the top and giving Carbine six months to re-consider some of the hefty requirements. It appears three months were all it took and I’m not going to […]

  9. […] written on attunements was in response to a Liore post which in turn was tied to posts over at Why I Game and MMO Gypsy. You can read my comment, quoted in full, here on Murf Versus, if you want to know […]

Leave a Reply

