GW2: Odds and Ends

I don’t know if I’m the only one, but as we tail off one seasonal event/update with the next naught but previews and sneak announcements, I enter a sort of “cooling off” period.

I head back to one of my favorite activities in-game, wandering around solo, gathering stuff and farming materials – most of which I end up hoarding for the next time I get the urge to plevel an alt via crafting rather than selling, and just use the “alone time” to recharge all my batteries. It’s nice to get back in touch with the world and re-immerse in the lore.

I know my charr's called Finder, but this isn't quite what I had in mind... Oh, and be advised, those skritt are developing agriculture, as one of them laboriously explained how keeping the grubs alive and letting them breed was more convenient. Yep, charr been herding cows for centuries now.

I know my charr’s called Finder, but this isn’t quite what I had in mind…
Oh, and be advised, those skritt are developing agriculture – one of them laboriously explained to me how keeping the grubs alive and letting them breed was more convenient for meat on demand. Yep, charr been herding cows for centuries now.

I tinker around and take stock and make vague plans about getting around to someday tidying up my inventory.

It's so totally not happening. I did decide to spend 20 gold from all that AR running on my personal guild to open out a 100 slot storage. Maybe that'll help if I can muster up the courage to attempt the task.

It’s so totally not happening.
I did decide to spend 20 gold from all that AR running on my personal guild to open out a 100 slot storage. One more week of build time. Maybe that’ll help if I can muster up the courage to attempt the task.

I find uses for excess gold lying around. Altholism means always having another goal – another character to level, another character to equip with multiple sets of gear for different builds (plus cosmetics), an account to upgrade in some fashion.

Decided my experimental armor was decent enough for normal dungeon running to warrant splurging on cheap cultural armor and dyes and non-cheap transmutation crystals. Played around with Iron Legion colors. Who knew Gunmetal was blue?! Had to look up a forum post for suggested dye colors. Some day in the near future, I want a "proper" berserker set to try that out too.

After some CoF and AC, decided my experimental armor for AR was decent enough for normal dungeon running to warrant splurging on cheap cultural armor and dyes and non-cheap transmutation crystals.
Played around with Iron Legion colors. Who knew Gunmetal was blue?! Had to look up a forum post for suggested dye colors.
Some day in the near future, I want a “proper” berserker set to try that out too.

I try to anticipate the next patch and get a little bit of a headstart in.

In this case, working on a few more ignored achievements. After the horror of the 38th diving spot, I decided to complete Dive Master before an even more horrific 39th spot was sneakily added.

In this case, working on a few more ignored achievements. After the horror of the 38th diving spot in the Not So Secret JP, I decided to complete Dive Master before an even more horrific 39th spot was sneakily added. This old one is a close contender for one of the more irritating to get to. My charr is floating on air by the time I get up there.

I make further incremental progress towards a Legendary at some point within the next five years.

I finally get around to world completion and end it off at a pig farm in Lion's Arch. Also, the last two weeks have been very yellow rare friendly with all the dungeons and AR and guild missions too. Went up to 100+ ectos and promptly threw 30 of 'em in the Mystic Toilet in the hope of clovers and T6 mats.

I finally get around to world completion and end it off at a pig farm in Lion’s Arch.
Also, the last two weeks have been very yellow rare friendly with all the dungeons and AR and guild missions too. Went up to 100+ ectos and promptly threw 30 of ’em in the Mystic Toilet in the hope of clovers and T6 mats.

I even now and then get around to participating in the more commonly frequented as endgame activities like WvW and dungeons (fractals included.)

Impromptu asura squad.  I so want an asura thief next. Also been sitting on leveling an asura ranger, I hear they're not bad in WvW roaming.

Impromptu asura squad.
I so want an asura thief next. Also been sitting on leveling an asura ranger, I hear they’re not bad in WvW roaming.

Zephyr Sanctum should hit in a few days. Until then, it’s delighting in the usual smorgasbord of activities GW2 provides for every playstyle.

3 thoughts on “GW2: Odds and Ends

  1. João Carlos says:

    While I wait next living world event, I am completing world map with my charr and norn toons. My sylvari and asura toons have 100% world completion.

    I hope the july 9 living world event (Four Winds) is the start of a chain of events for Anet give us a new playable race when GW2 have its first birthday: tengu.

  2. bhagpuss says:

    We’ve had our Guild Vault expanded to the maximum size for ages now. It’s the storage space I use most, by miles. On the other hand it was only this weekend I finally exchanged Gold for Gems for the first time ever and bought a second tab for the bank on each account.

    Perhaps counter-intuitively, finally spending some of my gold reserves on Gems indicates a lessening of interest in the game. When I’m deeply involved in an MMO I tend to hoard everything, including currency, on the assumption I’m going to need it. If I start splashing out it tends to suggest that psychologically I’m disengaging. No need to hold onto Gold if I won’t be around to spend it later.

    The upcoming update looks very interesting but I can feel myself drifting away from GW2, slowly but steadily. I’m down to just doing the dailies most days, with a few dragon events and a little WvW (which ironically has been better on Yak’s Bend these last few weeks than at any time since launch).

    It was somewhat disturbing to see ANet quoting an average Achievement Point Total going into the new changes of 5-6k. Despite having a thousand or so hours played on one account I don’t think I have anything like that. Increasingly I feel my preferred playstyle no longer fits the GW2 plan, which is disappointing since for a while it looked as if someone had finally made an MMO that was intended to be played the way I play most MMOs anyway.

    Ah well, I never expected to play GW2 this heavily for this long in the first place. It’s almost certainly better for it to be one of the main MMOs I play rather than the MMO I mainly play.

    • João Carlos says:

      I have 5700+ achievement points. IMHO, there is a good quantity of players that 5-6 k achievement points.

      Too take note Anet do’nt said the players average are 5-6 k achievement points, but that MAX players are averaging 5-6 k. That 5-6 k is the top we are seeing for now.

      I just want see what will be my reward for that 5500 achievement points…

Leave a Reply

