GW2: Using Up Lives (and Karma) at Vastly Accelerated Rates

This guy is harder than Zhaitan...

I’d like to make a swift correction to one of the complaints I had earlier, regarding the ending chest of World 1-1 and 1-2.

It seems they do give 2 bauble bubbles as well as a continue coin. I’ll blame the slow loot scrolling and trying to do SAB at 2-3am for how I misinterpreted it.

And now to continue the litany of changes:

  • Queen Bee Dogs no longer can be chain stunned with the whip. Hell, they don’t seem to be stunned at all. This cost me several lives to find out that information for you. YOU’RE WELCOME. I’M NOT BITTER.

Unfortunately, this makes the solo fight into a neverending tedium of running in circles constantly while trying to get a few licks in with the stick x 50.

Hell, the whole game world feels like I have to circle strafe all the time and the sticky camera does NOT help. World 1-2 on the boss cage with a charr, try it, my camera goes in and out and in and out ad nauseam. Literally. Motion sickness, ugh.

  • Dig spots no longer work in Infantile Mode. I sorta alluded to this in my previous post but never outright said it. So yeah, normal mode for bauble farming now. And a diminished one at that.
  • I do appreciate the small quality of life tweaks though.

Two that I noticed in World 1-1: a barrel gives a swiftness buff just as you need to jump a long gap with baubles in an arc, something that I could only previously achieve by attempting to dodge-jump with a 50% success rate (thanks latency.)

And a line of trees that again were only previously dodge-jumpable now have little tree outgrowths to make it more easy to get across.

Josh Foreman thinks he may have overestimated the average player’s jumping ability a little. I have to agree, his hunch was sound. I haven’t even tried world 2 on normal mode yet and I’m having to think of ways to grind lives and baubles… FOR INFANTILE MODE.

I’m not miserable and frustrated yet, but I am more than a bit grumpy.

Especially when so many previously understood rules have changed around somewhat. My digs have been diminished in effectiveness. I’m being offered an upgraded shovel which I have to grind another 325 baubles for. I can only visit dig locations once a day per account. So now I can’t farm baubles with digs.

Stuff on the to-try list: check out the secret bomb-opened places to see if I can only visit those once a day as well. If I can’t revisit it, I’m going to be very very bitter at the time-gating.

How else can I get baubles? Can I kill Queen Bee Dogs repeatedly? See above for non-chain stunnable Bee Dogs. That’s a lot of pain to go through for 10 baubles and a honeycomb. Assuming I don’t die accidentally and use up a life, which I was trying to grind baubles for.

Players don’t really react well to perceived nerfs and I’m no exception.

The fun and humor of the place has gone, replaced by what feels like a death trap.

I know it’s learnable. Even if I get my butt continually kicked by the assassins whom I can’t seem to dodge, but it’s probably just a pattern I need to learn. The dart traps are well hidden but visible when you know what to look out for. It’s just that you’ll die a few times before you know when and where to stop and check for them.

Seriously, fuck chain knockdowns. I can't do anything once the bugger charges me. I need a walkthrough to tell me what I'm supposed to do here.

Seriously, fuck chain knockdowns. I can’t do anything once the bugger charges me. I need a walkthrough to tell me what I’m supposed to do here to avoid this. If I’m lucky, I manage to dodge his first charge and then subsequently get caught by the next. The end. I lose a good 2-3 hearts each time.

But I’m beginning to question just how much time I want to spend in here.

I’m certainly not willing to slowly comb the place like I did last time looking for hidden secrets. It’s too fatal for that and I don’t have lives and time to spare. I’m going to wait for Dulfy and other people to post all the secrets and then just robotically follow those guides. Even then, I’m kinda scared to try World 2 in normal, seeing what I floated past on my rainbow.

Which does kill off some of the earlier joy, but well, live and learn. Overtuned is overtuned.

To add insult to injury, look, 3 missing steps! Now I have to go back through Infantile Mode with a guide in hand hoping to hit upon the three locations I didn't stumble across.

To add insult to injury, look, 3 missing steps! Now I have to go back through Infantile Mode later with a guide in hand hoping to hit upon the three locations I didn’t stumble across.

4 thoughts on “GW2: Using Up Lives (and Karma) at Vastly Accelerated Rates

  1. […] them to grind out 400 baubles to pass through a frozen waterfall. Plus, it’s not really a tour. Jeromai gives his account of using up all his free continue coins in Infant […]

  2. Ursan says:

    It’s unfortunate. The mechanics are so sound and fun too. Learning the levels of zones 1 and 2 were an absolute blast. The gradual improvement of my own skill is satisfaction that the rest of the game rarely gives me. I can’t wait until we re-do it for full completion.

    But then this isn’t some niche game, it’s GW2, and it does seem very much so that normal mode is way overtuned.

    I have a question for you though: what is killing you in infantile mode? The ninjas? Just circle around them, always going diagonal/sideways. You’ll always dodge their leap attack while hitting their sides some of the time. Always try to fight in a flat, open terrain where you have space to circle around. If you ever do get hit, you have a few seconds of invulnerability to get in two hits, which IIRC is enough to kill an assassin.

    -Ursan

    • Jeromai says:

      Let’s see, I tend to get chain sworded by the ninjas because I can’t seem to circle them in time. Possibly latency and unfamiliarity with the content, should get better with practice.

      There were several lives spent flying into thin air via chain flowers, because I couldn’t quite get the camera positioned right to take me to the empty space rather than accidentally hit a flower by a pixel.

      There was walking along a sequence of rainbows, being very frightened at what lay below that I would have to face in normal mode (Piranha Bend, I suspect), then I slipped off one rainbow and the next. Which led to chain rapids knockdown death. Several times. Once a piranha knocked me off the rainbow and into the river too.

      There was getting overwhelmed by ninjas in World 2-2 a number of times. Flattened by a block by the boss ninja two or three times. Another 3-4 lives spent working out the dart room + block mechanics because I sometimes bravely follow a frowny face rather than a smiley one.

      There was getting owned by polar bears, because getting close to them with only a stick was asking to get ground pounded into nonexistence. I’m waiting for someone to tell me where the secret shop with the chain sticks are and the various other upgrades to see if that gets better.

      There was sliding along ice, lots of it. Trying to get the hang of going upslope sans rainbows against the yeti… wasn’t working out well. There was the yeti himself, with rocks that hurled me off.

      There was sliding along ice into banana attacks. Into stalagmites falling on my head.

      And there was trying to figure out the storm wizard’s mechanics. I had to google out how to handle his first phase, it just wasn’t obvious to me. There was trying to learn how to handle lightning balls without cowering on top of a rainbow – didn’t work out either. And there was his royal cloud highness bashing through a platform just as I was trying to get off it to another.

      I’m sure all of these are eventually learnable and conquerable. I don’t really have a big deal with the OHKOs, honestly.

      I do have a slight problem with chain knockdowns. I do have a problem with how long each level is. I think I spent two and half hours just doing world 1 normal to get baubles and then world 2-3 on infantile.

      And I’m not keen on repeated life/bauble/coin grinding with an infinite coin cheat code sitting in the cash shop. It’s a catch 22. I would actually like to buy the coin, for the right reasons – reward developer, support specific content, personal convenience, work through tribulation mode.

      But as of right now, I am not comfortable buying it because that’ll indicate that I can be egged on to get a P2W / cheat code solution. My hope is that they’ll tune down normal mode to a more sane difficulty, then I’ll be happy buying it for extra / tribulation stuff.

      • Ursan says:

        Disclaimer: I haven’t done infantile mode yet nor zone 3, so I can’t really address your issues specific to that, but there seems to be a disturbing amount of precise jumping required in infantile mode from your experience, which really goes against the spirit of the mode itself. That’s never good. That’s puzzling, really.

        Anyways, against the ninjas. I found that it’s the best to always try to abuse your invuln after you get hit. As I said, you can get 2 good hits in which is enough to kill one outright. You’ll probably get hit again if there’s another ninja, but done optimally you’ll just lose one heart per ninja, which is way better than getting smacked around. Also, always go for the shuriken ones first since they don’t move around as much and are easier to dodge/hit. And of course, don’t be afraid of using slingshot/bombs! Baubles are so cheap and easy to get.

        Personally I never experienced difficulty with the chain flowers. I just take my time positioning my camera before I jump onto any flowers, and IIRC there were no flowers which require rapid-succession jumps.

        Lastly, IMO the most time-efficient way to get coins is to speed-run World 1 just for bauble bubbles and coins. A speedrun can be done in around 10 minutes and net you 9 continue coins total.

        Bauble farming, I haven’t really figured out yet. I did a run through World 1 and hitting all the dig spots/secret rooms and it game me almost ~150 baubles in the end. But I have to check whether secret room baubles are time-gated or not.

        Happy hunting though. I do agree World 2 is way overtuned for the general population. That being said, it’s still very much possible to get better at it. Hope my tips are helpful.

        -Ursan

Leave a Reply

